Summer Study Committee on Public Schools “Going Independent” Meets Aug. 21

Section 16 of Act 56 of 2013 (H.521) requires this that a study committee look at the opportunities and challenges created by closing a public school with the intention of reopening it as an approved independent school that serves essentially the same population of students and receives publicly funded tuition dollars.

This study committee was a compromise position adopted after a strong push by many legislators to place a ban on public schools “going independent.” The chairman of this committee, Secretary of Education Armando Vilaseca, said at a State Board of Education Meeting that, “I am philosophically against [public schools going independent]. … It goes counter to everything I believe in. … I hope that our Legislature… will take a look at what occurred in your community and to not allow a public school to close and an independent school … open in its place.”

The committee will hold its second meeting on Wednesday, August 21, 9:00 am to 11:00 am in the Vermont Agency of Education’s conference room, 5th Floor, 120 State Street, Montpelier.

Committee Members:

1) Armando Vilaseca, Secretary, Agency of Education

armando.vilaseca@state.vt.us

2) Susan Kimmerly, co-chair of the Council on Independent Schools

skimmerly@9east.net

3) Mill Moore, Executive Director of the Vermont Independent Schools Association

mill@vtindependentschools.org

4) Seth Bongartz, Board Chair, Burr & Burton Academy

seth@hildene.org

5) Fran Bisselle, Headmaster, Maple Street School

fbisselle@maplestreetschool.com

6) Dale Urie, Teacher and Department Chair, St. Johnsbury Academy

daleurie@gmail.com

7) Jeff Francis, Executive Director, Vermont Superintendents Association

jfrancis@vtvsa.org

8) Steve Dale, Executive Director, Vermont School Boards Association

sdale@vtvsba.org

9) Ken Page, Executive Director, Vermont Principals’ Association

kpage@vpaonline.org

10) Joel Cook, Executive Director, VT-National Education Association

11) Erin Maguire, Executive Director, Vermont Council of Special Education

emaguire@ccsuvt.org

12) Stephen Morse, Chairman, Vermont State Board of Education

Stephan@sover.net

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

About Us

The Ethan Allen Institute is Vermont’s free-market public policy research and education organization. Founded in 1993, we are one of fifty-plus similar but independent state-level, public policy organizations around the country which exchange ideas and information through the State Policy Network.
Read more...

Latest News

Olivia de Havilland, RIP

July 31, 2020 By John McClaughry Olivia de Havilland died last week at the age of 104. She was remembered by most  for her role as Melanie in Gone...

Covid Is the Iceberg that Sinks the Public School System

July 31, 2020 by Rob Roper Covid 19 is going to change how many things are done around the world even long after it’s gone, and some for...

The Government that Cried ‘Mask Mandate’

July 30, 2020 By David Flemming As Governor Scott’s mask mandate looms on August 1, a popular question many Vermonters are asking is “how strictly will it be...

VT Left Wing Media Bias Unmasks Itself

July 24, 2020 By Rob Roper Dave Gram was a long time reporter for the Associated Press, is currently the host of what’s billed on WDEV as a...

Using Guns for Self Defense – 3 Recent Examples

July 24, 2020 By John McClaughry  The Heritage Foundation’s Daily Signal last week published eleven news stories about citizens using a firearm to stop a crime. Here are...

Video