8-2-15 – Union Supporters Freak Over Roper Op-Ed

by Rob Roper

I recently received a copy of a email circulated among a group called Working Vermont regarding an Op-Ed I wrote, In Age of Uber, “Right to Work” Makes More Sense Than Ever. The list of people copied on the original email included lobbyists, union leaders, and legislators*.

The full content of the email, excluding a reprint of my column, reads:  “Ethan Allen institute’s president Rob Roper’s comments which appear late last week in a number of daily and weekly newspapers demands a collective response by Working Vermont, hopefully in the form of an op ed in time for Labor Day.  Given that we don’t meet until Sep 8th, I am hoping we can move on this now.  Under the guise of expanding job opportunities for Vermonters, Roper extols the virtues of independent contractor status, holds out hope for the elimination of agency fees and suggests the elimination of the concept of exclusive representation suggesting companies could negotiate separate contracts with those who choose not to be in a union, thus of course, always giving the non union employees better terms and conditions of employment and thus hasten the destruction of unions which along with eliminating the middle class, is his true goal.  This article needs to be called and labelled for the hypocritical travesty that it is and Roper’s views tied to the Republicans if possible.  It cannot go unrebutted.”

A few things here are striking.

  • The admission that if workers were allowed to negotiate their own terms of employment outside the union, non-union employees would “always” receive “better terms and conditions of employment.” Of course if workers found value in joining a union, they join of their own free will? If unions do provide such value, they have nothing to fear from my proposals. Yet, as we see, they are afraid.
  • Their venomous and idiotic accusation that the elimination of the middle class is my goal. Under Vermont’s current, pro-union policies the gap between rich and poor is growing faster here than in any other state with the possible exception of California, and middle class families are leaving Vermont because they can’t afford to live here. If we want to save the middle class, we need to change the status quo by expanding opportunities for work and entrepreneurship. (This was the point of my original article at which they took such offense.)
  • And lastly, the flagrantly false and partisan desire to tie my views to Republicans “if possible.” What a crock! But, at least it’s nice to know this is how the folks on the list below operate (and cooperate).

Can’t wait to see their Op-Ed on Labor Day! Bet it’ll be a doozie.

 

*From: “Stephen L. Finner, Ph.D.” <union-consult@finner.info>
Date: August 31, 2015 at 8:10:01 AM EDT
To: Michelle Salvador <tele.vermont@yahoo.com>, “David A. Mickenberg” <mickenberg@gmail.com>
Cc: Darren Allen <dallen@vtnea.org>, Martha Allen <mallen@vtnea.org>, “Colby, Gerard” <gcolby7777@gmail.com>, Joel Cook <jcook@vtnea.org>, “Cook, Joel” <all5cooks@aol.com>, “Davis, Susan” <sdavis@leg.state.vt.us>, “Dennett, Charlotte” <charlottedennett@gmail.com>, “johannah.donovan@gmail.com” <Johannah.donovan@gmail.com>, Jeff Fannon <jfannon@vtnea.org>, Steve Howard <SHoward@vsea.org>, Vincent Illuzzi <vincentilluzzi@hotmail.com>, “Johnson, Ben” <uppresident@upvaft.org>, “LaBounty, Dennis” <vslcafl@sover.net>, “Leyshon, Traven” <traven_l@earthlink.net>, Shelley Martin <SMartin@vsea.org>, “Matthews, Leslie” <matthews@horttech.us>, “Mayers, Matt” <mmayers@afscme.org>, “Moran, John” <jmoran@leg.state.vt.us>, “O’Brien, Ben” <bobrien@pffv.org>, “O’Neal, Mike” <president@vermonttroopers.com>, “Paradis, Emma” <emma.paradis@outlook.com>, “Potvin, Jeff” <jeff@ualocal693.org>, “Riemer, Heather” <hriemer@upvaft.org>, Colin Robinson <crobinson@vtnea.org>, “Shollenberger, Amy” <amy@action-circles.com>, “Sirotkin, Michael” <sirotkin.senate@gmail.com>, “St. Hilaire, Tony” <Tony@teamsterslocal597.net>, Kristie Ferguson <kferguson@vtnea.org>, Ben Palkowski <BPalkowski@vsea.org>, “Justin St. James” <JStJames@vsea.org>, “adam@necrasongroup.com” <adam@necrasongroup.com>, “samantham@upvaft.org” <samantham@upvaft.org>, Felicia Kornbluh <fkornblu@uvm.edu>, “Thomas.Chittenden@uvm.edu” <Thomas.Chittenden@uvm.edu>, “rebecca@necrasongroup.com” <rebecca@necrasongroup.com>

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

Doug Richmond, Underhill September 5, 2015 at 3:56 pm

I guess you gave them a taste of Gov. Walkers telling the unions to collect their own dues, the gov’t’ wasn’t in the business of colledting dues for unions, directly from employees paychecks. The union suffered great loses as a now free set of employees left the union in droves.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

About Us

The Ethan Allen Institute is Vermont’s free-market public policy research and education organization. Founded in 1993, we are one of fifty-plus similar but independent state-level, public policy organizations around the country which exchange ideas and information through the State Policy Network.
Read more...

Latest News

Olivia de Havilland, RIP

July 31, 2020 By John McClaughry Olivia de Havilland died last week at the age of 104. She was remembered by most  for her role as Melanie in Gone...

Covid Is the Iceberg that Sinks the Public School System

July 31, 2020 by Rob Roper Covid 19 is going to change how many things are done around the world even long after it’s gone, and some for...

The Government that Cried ‘Mask Mandate’

July 30, 2020 By David Flemming As Governor Scott’s mask mandate looms on August 1, a popular question many Vermonters are asking is “how strictly will it be...

VT Left Wing Media Bias Unmasks Itself

July 24, 2020 By Rob Roper Dave Gram was a long time reporter for the Associated Press, is currently the host of what’s billed on WDEV as a...

Using Guns for Self Defense – 3 Recent Examples

July 24, 2020 By John McClaughry  The Heritage Foundation’s Daily Signal last week published eleven news stories about citizens using a firearm to stop a crime. Here are...

Video