Summer Study Committee on Public Schools “Going Independent” Meets Aug. 21

Section 16 of Act 56 of 2013 (H.521) requires this that a study committee look at the opportunities and challenges created by closing a public school with the intention of reopening it as an approved independent school that serves essentially the same population of students and receives publicly funded tuition dollars.

This study committee was a compromise position adopted after a strong push by many legislators to place a ban on public schools “going independent.” The chairman of this committee, Secretary of Education Armando Vilaseca, said at a State Board of Education Meeting that, “I am philosophically against [public schools going independent]. … It goes counter to everything I believe in. … I hope that our Legislature… will take a look at what occurred in your community and to not allow a public school to close and an independent school … open in its place.”

The committee will hold its second meeting on Wednesday, August 21, 9:00 am to 11:00 am in the Vermont Agency of Education’s conference room, 5th Floor, 120 State Street, Montpelier.

Committee Members:

1) Armando Vilaseca, Secretary, Agency of Education

armando.vilaseca@state.vt.us

2) Susan Kimmerly, co-chair of the Council on Independent Schools

skimmerly@9east.net

3) Mill Moore, Executive Director of the Vermont Independent Schools Association

mill@vtindependentschools.org

4) Seth Bongartz, Board Chair, Burr & Burton Academy

seth@hildene.org

5) Fran Bisselle, Headmaster, Maple Street School

fbisselle@maplestreetschool.com

6) Dale Urie, Teacher and Department Chair, St. Johnsbury Academy

daleurie@gmail.com

7) Jeff Francis, Executive Director, Vermont Superintendents Association

jfrancis@vtvsa.org

8) Steve Dale, Executive Director, Vermont School Boards Association

sdale@vtvsba.org

9) Ken Page, Executive Director, Vermont Principals’ Association

kpage@vpaonline.org

10) Joel Cook, Executive Director, VT-National Education Association

11) Erin Maguire, Executive Director, Vermont Council of Special Education

emaguire@ccsuvt.org

12) Stephen Morse, Chairman, Vermont State Board of Education

Stephan@sover.net

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

About Us

The Ethan Allen Institute is Vermont’s free-market public policy research and education organization. Founded in 1993, we are one of fifty-plus similar but independent state-level, public policy organizations around the country which exchange ideas and information through the State Policy Network.
Read more...

Latest News

Pandemic Push Back: Vermonters Should Speak Up Now Before It’s Too Late

May 29, 2020 By Aimee Stephenson, Ph.D. As Vermont begins to re-open, I am hopeful to see more of my friends beginning to relax. Fear is a funny...

VT Democrats Are Conspiring with VPIRG to pull off a massive “Ballot Harvesting” operation

May 28, 2020 by Rob Roper The three biggest advocates of an all-mail-in ballot election are Democrat Secretary of State Jim Condos, Democratic legislators, and Vermont Public Interest...

GWSA Enforcement

May 26, 2020 by John McClaughry Over the past year I’ve spent a lot of time denouncing what I call the worst democracy-shredding bill in Vermont history. It’s...

Get Ready for the “Global Warming Shut-Down Act”

May 22, 2020 by Rob Roper As Vermonters struggle to figure out how to re-open our economy in the wake of the COVID-19 shutdown, the Senate Committee on...

Roll Call! Senate Votes to Expand Scope of Energy Tax and Subsidize Program (28-2), 2020

S.337- AN ACT RELATING TO ENERGY EFFICIENCY ENTITIES AND PROGRAMS TO REDUCE GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS IN THE THERMAL ENERGY AND TRANSPORTATION SECTORS PASSED in the State Senateon May...

Video