Summer Study Committee on Public Schools “Going Independent” Meets Aug. 21

Section 16 of Act 56 of 2013 (H.521) requires this that a study committee look at the opportunities and challenges created by closing a public school with the intention of reopening it as an approved independent school that serves essentially the same population of students and receives publicly funded tuition dollars.

This study committee was a compromise position adopted after a strong push by many legislators to place a ban on public schools “going independent.” The chairman of this committee, Secretary of Education Armando Vilaseca, said at a State Board of Education Meeting that, “I am philosophically against [public schools going independent]. … It goes counter to everything I believe in. … I hope that our Legislature… will take a look at what occurred in your community and to not allow a public school to close and an independent school … open in its place.”

The committee will hold its second meeting on Wednesday, August 21, 9:00 am to 11:00 am in the Vermont Agency of Education’s conference room, 5th Floor, 120 State Street, Montpelier.

Committee Members:

1) Armando Vilaseca, Secretary, Agency of Education

armando.vilaseca@state.vt.us

2) Susan Kimmerly, co-chair of the Council on Independent Schools

skimmerly@9east.net

3) Mill Moore, Executive Director of the Vermont Independent Schools Association

mill@vtindependentschools.org

4) Seth Bongartz, Board Chair, Burr & Burton Academy

seth@hildene.org

5) Fran Bisselle, Headmaster, Maple Street School

fbisselle@maplestreetschool.com

6) Dale Urie, Teacher and Department Chair, St. Johnsbury Academy

daleurie@gmail.com

7) Jeff Francis, Executive Director, Vermont Superintendents Association

jfrancis@vtvsa.org

8) Steve Dale, Executive Director, Vermont School Boards Association

sdale@vtvsba.org

9) Ken Page, Executive Director, Vermont Principals’ Association

kpage@vpaonline.org

10) Joel Cook, Executive Director, VT-National Education Association

11) Erin Maguire, Executive Director, Vermont Council of Special Education

emaguire@ccsuvt.org

12) Stephen Morse, Chairman, Vermont State Board of Education

Stephan@sover.net

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

About Us

The Ethan Allen Institute is Vermont’s free-market public policy research and education organization. Founded in 1993, we are one of fifty-plus similar but independent state-level, public policy organizations around the country which exchange ideas and information through the State Policy Network.
Read more...

Latest News

Scott Reiterates Opposition to Carbon Tax/TCI

November 15, 2019 by Rob Roper Vermont is one of a dozen states contemplating entering into a regional cap and trade scheme for gasoline and diesel, the Transportation...

Remington Arms Case

November 13, 2019 by John McClaughry Last Tuesday the US Supreme Court cleared the way for a lawsuit against Remington Arms Co. brought by survivors  of victims of...

Scott: Make Paid Family Leave Voluntary, Unless Nobody Wants It

November 12, 2019 By Rob Roper For the past year, Governor Scott has been making the good fight on Paid Family Leave in demanding any such plan be...

False Claims of Falsity About Vermont’s Business Climate

November 8, 2019 by Rob Roper In a recent “fact check” piece by Vermont Digger, the online news site nailed Governor Scott’s comment that Energizer Battery’s decision to...

Sen. Warren and Medicare for All

November 7, 2019 by John McClaughry Last week Sen.  Elizabeth Warren released the details of her Medicare-for-All plan. The Wall Street Journal studied her explanation and concluded that ...

Video